The duration of your workers’ compensation benefits depends on the type of injury you suffered and if you are able to work in some capacity while disabled. Some injuries are limited to a set number of weeks, while others may qualify you for unlimited benefits.
The workers’ comp attorneys at the Law Offices of Humberto Izquierdo, Jr. are highly experienced at navigating workers’ comp cases and securing maximum benefits for clients. If you have been injured at work, had a claim denied, or have any other issues with your workers’ comp benefits, a free consultation is only a phone call away.
Georgia Workers’ Comp Provisions
As a general rule, weekly workers’ comp benefits can be paid up to 400 weeks from the date of your injury. The exceptions include:
Georgia law stipulates a specific length of benefits for certain injuries, such as dismemberment. Injury that results in loss of a body part correlates to the following benefit durations:
- Arm – 225 weeks
- Leg - 225 weeks
- Hand – 160 weeks
- Foot – 135 weeks
- Finger – Ranges from 25-40 weeks
- Toe – 20-30 weeks
Catastrophic injuries are such that you will never be able to return to your previous way of life, including your career. Brain, spinal cord, back, and neck injuries often fall into this category.
Georgia workers’ comp law provides unlimited wage and medical benefits to victims of catastrophic injuries. Your physician will rate your disability using the Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment in order to classify your injury as catastrophic or non-catastrophic.
Temporary Partial Disability
If you will fully recover from your injury but are temporarily disabled while you heal, you may be entitled to temporary partial disability benefits. There is a 350 week cap on this type of benefit, which pays up to $450.00 per week.
If you suffer a fatal injury, your dependents may be entitled to death benefits. These benefits are capped at $270,000 paid out in weekly installments up to $675.00 per week. Death benefits end after 400 weeks or when a dependent spouse reaches the age of 65, whichever comes last. Benefits would also end if a dependent spouse remarried. In the case of a child beneficiary, benefits end when the child turns 18, if not enrolled in college, or 22 if enrolled.
What does Workers’ Comp Pay in Georgia?
Workers’ comp wage benefits are calculated at two-thirds of your average weekly pay. The minimum weekly benefit is $50, and the maximum caps at $675.00 per week.
If you are able to work while recovering but are earning less than your normal pay, workers’ comp will pay two-thirds of the difference between your current pay and your normal pay. This benefit caps at $450.00 per week.
Schedule your Complimentary Consultation
Workplace injuries don’t just cause physical pain. The emotional and financial stress of not being able to work, along with the uncertainty of your future wellbeing make it difficult to focus on your recovery.
By contacting the Law Offices of Humberto Izquierdo, Jr., you can delegate the process of filing a workers’ comp claim and making sure your rights are protected to an experienced legal team. For a free consultation with one of our workers’ comp attorneys, call 770-888-8901.